Pages Menu
TwitterRssFacebook
Categories Menu

Posted by on Mar 23, 2016 in Tell Me Why |

What Is Gelatin Made From?

What Is Gelatin Made From?

When you eat gelatin, you are eating a dessert made from the bones of cows and other food animals. Gelatin is made by prolonged boiling of skin, cartilage, and bones from animals. It’s made primarily from the stuff meat industries have left over.

To make gelatin, the bones are washed, crushed, and chemically softened. The spongy bone material, called “collagen,” is then boiled in water to get the gelatin out of it.

To make colorful jelly-like foods that taste like raspberry, cherry, lemon, and so forth, the gelatin is sweetened and flavored with fruit juices and other flavors. The gelatin mixture is then dried and ground into a powder. Gelatin forms a stiff jelly when dissolved in hot water and allowed to cool.

This animal-derived ingredient can also be found in some vitamins and medications, marshmallows (Peeps included), cheeses, yogurts, soups, salad dressings, jams and jellies, fruit snacks, and canned hams.

Content for this question contributed by Joe Dyleski, resident of Cincinnati, Hamilton County, Ohio, USA